Broadway! Broadway! 5 Broadway Roles I’d Love to Play

5fandomfriday

OMG! OMG! OMG! What a wonderful Fandom Friday post! I’d be lying if I said I never thought of Broadway roles I’d love to play. Despite being very musically talented my whole life, I can’t sing for the life of me, and although I loved being involved in Drama, I won’t be getting any leading rolls soon. But that doesn’t stop me from loving musicals! Without further ado, here are the 5 Roles I’d Love to Play if I was a triple-threat.

Eponine ((Les Mis))

When I was a wee Middle Schooler, I was in my town’s high school production of Les Mis. As a complete rookie, I only played townspeople, factory workers, and the occasional whore, but I dreamed of someday playing Eponine. Her character is so tragically beautiful, not to mention she was way smarter and fiercer than dumb Cosette. She was destined to be with Marius! I mean come on, have you ever wondered why Cosette and Marius never completely have a duet (it’s always interjected with Eponine), but Eponine and Marius do? Destiny, man.

Gypsy Rose Lee ((Gypsy))

I always enjoy stories of people who shed their inhibitions (or in this case, their clothes) and confidentally step into their true selves. In Gypsy, Louise was shoved around by her mom and sister all her life, but finally shows them her inner strength by transforming into burlesque superstar Gypsy Rose Lee. I’d love a chance to put aside my own timidness to play this sexy role. Plus, it’s a part without much singing!

Elphaba ((Wicked))

I was never a fan of the novel, but Wicked is one of my favorite musicals! What makes it particularly special to me is how it bonded my college roommates and I; “For Good” especially. Although Glinda is much more fun, I’d want to play Elphana because of the underlying darkness in her voice and songs.

Liesl ((The Sound of Music))

Two words: Gazebo Dance. That is all.

Petra ((A Little Night Music))

Although a small part, Petra from A Little Night Music has a big personality. This is another saucy role, which I guess I’m so attracted to because I wish I could only have such brazen confidence. Like typical Sondheim, the lyrics are fast, clever tongue twisters, and I love that her song is all about living life to the fullest.


As always, 5 Fandom Friday is brought to you by The Nerdy Girlie and Super Space Chick. Follow them to participate!

3 thoughts on “Broadway! Broadway! 5 Broadway Roles I’d Love to Play

Leave a Reply

